Skip to contentSkip to navigationFull graphics

Seminars (including some conference and workshop talks)


Last updated: 15 December 2017, 09:58

List today's seminars only


  Sunday, 17 September, 2017 — Friday, 13 July, 2018  
Symposium 2017-2018
Organisers: Brian Bowditch, Chris Leininger, Saul Schleimer, John Smillie and Karen Vogtmann
2017-2018 Warwick EPSRC Symposium on Geometry, Topology and Dynamics in Low Dimensions

  Monday, 11 December, 2017 — Friday, 15 December, 2017  
Symposium
Organisers: Nathan Dunfield, Stephan Tillmann, Saul Schleimer
Computation in geometric topology

  Friday, 15 December, 20179:30 amRoom B3.03  
Computation in Geometric Topology
Caroline Series (Warwick, LMS)
The suggestive power of pictures

  Friday, 15 December, 201711:00 amRoom B3.03  
Computation in Geometric Topology
Steven Sivek (Imperial)
On the complexity of torus knot recognition

  Friday, 15 December, 20172:30 pmRoom B3.03  
Computation in Geometric Topology
Benjamin Burton (Queensland)
Topology on tiny machines: logspace and finite-state complexity

  Friday, 15 December, 20174:00 pmRoom B3.03  
Computation in Geometric Topology
Arnaud Chéritat (Toulouse)
Raster rendering and applications to the depiction of hyperbolic plane and of kleinian groups

  Monday, 18 December, 2017  
Non-Symposium
Organiser: Thomas Hudson
Variational Approaches to Problems in Solid Mechanics

  Monday, 18 December, 201711:30 amRoom B3.02  
Variational Approaches to Problems in Solid Mechanics
Konstantinos Koumatos (Sussex)
Weak-Strong Uniqueness for Measure-Valued Solutions in Quasiconvex Elastodynamics

  Monday, 18 December, 20172:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Variational Approaches to Problems in Solid Mechanics
Lucia Scardia (Bath)
The Equilibrium Measure for a Nonlocal Dislocation Energy

  Monday, 18 December, 20173:30 pmRoom B3.02  
Variational Approaches to Problems in Solid Mechanics
Angkana Rüland (MPI Leipzig)
Microstructures in Shape-Memory Alloys: Rigidity vs Flexibility

  Monday, 18 December, 20174:30 pmRoom B3.02  
Variational Approaches to Problems in Solid Mechanics
Thomas Hudson (Warwick)
3D Dislocation Dynamics

  Tuesday, 19 December, 20173:00 pmRoom MS.04  
Geometry & Topology / Algebra
Robert Gray (UEA)
Topological finiteness properties of monoids

  Friday, 12 January, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Xavier Buff (Toulouse)

  Wednesday, 17 January, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability Seminar
Benjamin Gess (MPI Leipzig)
TBA

  Wednesday, 17 January, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Benjamin Gess (MPI Leipzig)

  Friday, 19 January, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Dmitri Vassiliev (UCL)

  Monday, 22 January, 2018Room B3.02  
Non-Symposium
Organiser: Simon French
Mir@W day: Theory and Applications of Expert Judgement in Risk and Decision Analysis

  Wednesday, 24 January, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability seminar
Marton Balazs (University of Bristol)
TBA

  Friday, 26 January, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
James Robinson (Warwick)

  Friday, 2 February, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Andrew Ranicki (Edinburgh)

  Friday, 9 February, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Andrea Mondino (Warwick)

  Monday, 12 February, 2018 — Friday, 16 February, 2018  
Non-Symposium
Organiser: Marco Schlichting
K-theory, A1-homotopy and quadratic forms

  Friday, 16 February, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Louise Dyson (Warwick)

  Wednesday, 21 February, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability seminar
Antti Knowles (University of Geneva)
TBA

  Friday, 23 February, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
David Sauzin (CNRS Pisa)

  Wednesday, 28 February, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability seminar
Hugo Duminil-Copin (IHES)
TBA

  Friday, 2 March, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Paul Milewski (Bath)

  Friday, 9 March, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Vladimir Markovic (CalTech)

  Wednesday, 14 March, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability seminar
Peter Fritz (TU Berlin)
TBA

  Monday, 19 March, 2018 — Friday, 23 March, 2018  
Symposium
Organisers: Corinna Ulcigrai, Anton Zorich, John Smillie
Teichmüller dynamics

  Monday, 9 April, 2018 — Friday, 13 April, 2018  
Symposium
Organisers: Mladen Bestvina, Tara Brendle, Chris Leininger
Geometry of Teichmüller space and mapping class groups

  Monday, 16 April, 2018 — Friday, 20 April, 2018  
Symposium
Organisers: Ruth Charney, Karen Vogtmann
Geometry of outer spaces and outer automorphism groups

  Wednesday, 25 April, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability Seminar
Jan Maas (IST Austria)
TBA

  Wednesday, 9 May, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Probability seminar
Marco Furlan (Paris)
TBA

  Friday, 1 June, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Neil O'Connell (University College Dublin)

  Friday, 15 June, 20184:00 pmRoom B3.02  
Colloquium
Marcelo Viana (IMPA)
tbc

  Monday, 18 June, 2018 — Thursday, 21 June, 2018  
Non-Symposium
Organisers: Anuj Dawar (Cambridge), Zdenek Dvorak (Charles University) and Dan Kral (Warwick)
Structural sparsity, logic and algorithms

  Monday, 2 July, 2018 — Friday, 6 July, 2018  
Symposium
Organisers: John Parker, Ser Peow Tan, Brian Bowditch
Representation varieties and geometric structures in low dimensions

  Monday, 9 July, 2018 — Friday, 13 July, 2018  
Symposium
Organisers: Piotr Przytycki, Michah Sageev, Brian Bowditch
Graphs, surfaces, and cube complexes

The Mathematics Research Centre has a small grant from the LMS to assist with expenses for British mathematicians attending mathematical activities at Warwick, in particular, for visits of a few days or more to Symposia, Workshops, etc.
For further information please e-mail the Mathematics Research Centre: mrc@maths.warwick.ac.uk

Back to the top of the page

Navigation


Full graphics | Sign in


© MMXVII  |  Privacy  |  Cookies  |  Accessibility