Professor Susan Bassnett has been elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and Professor David Dabydeen has been awarded the Anthony N Sabga Caribbean Award for Excellence.

The Royal Society of Literature is the only organisation in the UK entirely devoted to the promotion and enjoyment of excellent British writing. Anyone may become a Member, but Fellowship is by election. Fellows of the RSL include Chinua Achebe, Seamus Heaney, Sir Michael Holroyd, Doris Lessing, Harold Pinter, Tom Stoppard, Claire Tomalin and Rose Tremain. Early Fellows include Yeats, Shaw, Kipling and Hardy.

Fellowship elections are held by Council twice a year, after detailed discussion of a list of around forty writers. Candidates are proposed and seconded by existing Fellows. Only 14 new Fellows are generally elected each year. Elected Fellows then sign the Society’s roll book at the AGM in June.

For more information on the Royal Society of Literature, visit

Professor Dabydeen's Caribbean Award for Excellence in the Arts is one of three prestigious awards given every two years for Arts, Sciences and Public Services by the Ansa Mcal Group.

He is a widely respected academic and also an award-winning author, having published 12 fiction and non-fiction books. Born in Guyana in 1955, Professor Dabydeen's novel Our Lady of Demarara recently won an unprecedented third Guyanan prize for literature.

Professor Dabydeen said: "It’s a great honour bestowed on me – particularly because it is from a region that I have been working with for so long."

For more information on the Centre for Translation and Comparative Cultural Studies, visit their site at