UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK

Board of the Faculty of Arts

Minutes of the Extraordinary meeting of the Board of the Faculty of Arts held on Wednesday 1st April 2009.

Present:

Professor S Bruzzi (in the Chair), Mr J Arroyo, Dr C Britzolakis, Dr J Burns, Professor R Burns, Dr J Burrows, Professor J Davis, Professor T Docherty, Professor M Finn, Dr A Gerritsen, Professor M Hatt, Professor N Hewlett, Professor J Labbe, Dr D Lines, Dr T Lockley, Professor P Marshall, Professor A Reeve, Professor P Smith, Professor C Sparrow, Mr E Stewart, Professor M Whitby.

In Attendance: Ms L du Plessis, Miss K Gilmore

for item (i): Professor S Basnett, Dr C Bilton, Ms G Carta, Professor D Dabydeen, Ms S Ellison, Dr J Gilmore, Dr L Guyver, Mr J Jackson, Professor J Kennedy, Dr L Long, Dr P Marshall, Professor S Palmer, Ms C Parker, Ms Y Salter Wright, Ms S Skomorokhova, Ms M Tustin.

Apologies:

Professor P Abrahams, Professor J Ahearne, Dr J Davidson, Dr G Frith, Dr S Gilson, Professor S Hand, Dr E John, Dr C Marinetti, Professor D Morley, Dr R Moseley, Professor J Neelands, Professor K O'Brien, Professor D Orrells, Dr G Reillo, Professor H Schmitz, Dr T White, Dr C Whitehead.

36/08-09 Centre for Translation and Comparative Cultural Studies

CONSIDERED:

- (i) Representations on the sustainability and future of the Centre for Translation and Comparative Cultural Studies (CTCCS) from the Deputy-Vice-Chancellor Professor Stuart Palmer, members of staff from CTCCS and student Student-Staff Liaison Committee (SSLC) representatives;
- (ii) A report from the Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Richard Higgott on CTCCS (BFA14.08/09):

RESOLVED:

That the Board of the Faculty of Arts notes the recommendations outlined in Professor Higgott's report, recognises the need for the reorganisation of CTCCS and requests more detailed information about options for the future to be considered by the Board as soon as it becomes available and, in any case, no later than the next scheduled meeting of the Board to be held on Wednesday 27th May 2009.

NOTE:

The meeting of the Board of the Faculty of Arts was held in two parts. The first was an open session to which interested parties were invited, the second included only members of the Board. Professor S Bassnett, Professor D Dabydeen and Ms S Skomorokhova left the meeting after the first part.