UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK

e-Learning Steering Group

Minutes of the meeting of the e-Learning Steering Group of the Information Policy and Strategy Committee and the Academic Quality and Standards Committee held on Thursday 7 May 2009

Present: Professor Michael Whitby (Chair); Mr John Dale, Dr Cathia Jenainati,

Dr Kevin Moffat (vice Dr Keith Leppard), Professor Alan Neal, Dr Rudolf Roemer, Professor Donald Singer, Mr Mo Surve, Professor Jill

Thistlethwaite (vice Dr David Davies)

Apologies: Dr David Davies, Dr Keith Leppard, Dr Jeremy Smith

In attendance: Mr Steve Brydges, Mr Steve Carpenter, Ms Chris Coe, Dr Laura

Meadows, Dr Julian Moss, Ms Natasha Nakariakova, Mr Robert

O'Toole, Mr Michael Roberts

11/08-09 <u>Minutes</u>

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on Monday 26 January 2009 be approved.

12/08-09 Matters arising

Terms of reference (minute 1/08-09 referred)

REPORTED:

- (a) That the Director of IT Services, the Head of Academic and Enterprise Services, IT Services and the Secretary discussed possible changes to the Terms of Reference of the Group, to enable it to fulfil the function of Service Board for e-learning;
- (b) That a paper outlining proposed changes was not presented for discussion at this meeting, pending possible changes in the model for supporting e-learning at the University.

13/08-09 Support for e-learning

CONSIDERED:

Models for supporting e-learning in 2009-10 and beyond.

RESOLVED:

That, in the light of discussion at the meeting, the Director of ITS liaise with Chairs of the Faculty IT Committees to gather feedback from academic departments and colleagues on services provided by the e-Learning Advisor Team, in order to inform further consideration of models for supporting e-learning in 2009-10 and beyond.

14/08-09 Next meeting

REPORTED:

That the dates and times of the meetings of the Group for 2009-10 would be decided in due course and published in the University Committee Timetable.