# UNIVERSITY OF WARWICK

## **Board of Graduate Studies**

## Graduate Awards and Nominations Sub-Committee

There will be a meeting of the Graduate Awards and Nominations Sub-Committee at 13.00 on Monday 25 February 2013 in CMR 1.0, University House.

Mr K Sloan <u>Registrar</u>

Note: Questions on items on the agenda or apologies for this meeting should be directed to the Assistant Secretary to the Committee, Nicola Ellis-Thomas (N.Ellis-Thomas@warwick.ac.uk)

## AGENDA

1. Minutes

## TO RECEIVE:

The minutes from the last meeting of the Sub-Committee held on 24 May 2012 (GANC 1/13)

2. <u>Terms of Reference</u>

TO REPORT:

That the terms of reference for this Committee are as follows:

- (a) To exercise delegated authority on behalf of the Board of Graduate Studies to award scholarships via centrally administered competitions to the most academically able applicants and students for postgraduate taught and research degrees;
- (b) To contribute towards the ranking and scoring of applications to scholarship competitions not administered via central competitions;
- (c) To review the operation and criteria for postgraduate scholarship competitions on an annual basis and make recommendations to the Board of Graduate Studies regarding changes, where appropriate;
- (d) To secure the integrity and probity of the award of postgraduate scholarships at Warwick.
- (e) To respond to University directives concerning the awarding of University funds and advise BGS accordingly.
- 3. <u>Membership</u>
  - (a) <u>Chancellor's</u>, <u>Chancellor's</u> International (CIS), <u>DARO</u>, <u>Wolfson</u> Foundation and <u>AHRC</u> Doctoral Awards Scoring

TO REPORT:

That the Chancellor's/ CIS/ DARO/ Wolfson/ AHRC Doctoral Award Faculty scorers for 2012-13 academic year are:

Arts: Dr C Bilton, Professor R Earle, Dr R Dias, Dr D Lines

Medicine: Dr J Kidd, Professor F Griffiths, Professor G Hartshorne, Professor J Davey

Science: Professor D Leadley, Dr K Neailey, Dr A Cristea, Dr M Leeson

Social Sciences: Ms A Stewart, Professor P Poellner, Professor J Neelands, Dr K Richards

(b) PGT Combined Competition Awards Scoring

TO REPORT:

That the PGT combined competition included the AHRC Masters, Santander, International Office and Li Xiaoming scholarships.

That the scorers for the above in 2012-13 academic year will be:

Arts: Dr C Bilton, Professor R Earle, Dr R Dias, Dr D Lines

Medicine: Dr J Kidd, Professor F Griffiths, Professor G Hartshorne, Professor J Davey

Science: Professor D Leadley, Dr K Neailey, Dr A Cristea, Dr M Leeson

Social Sciences: Ms A Stewart, Professor P Poellner, Professor J Neelands, Dr K Richards

(c) University of Warwick/Open Society Foundation Master's Scholarships Scoring

TO REPORT:

That the scorers for the above in the 2012-13 academic year are Professor J Labbe and Dr K Astbury

#### 4. Wolfson Foundation Funding

TO REPORT:

That the University received funding from the Wolfson Foundation, which has been topped up with funding from the University to create an additional award for 2013/14 entry. The University will now be allocating four Wolfson Postgraduate Scholarships in the Humanities across the disciplines of History, Literature, and languages.

5. DARO Funding

TO REPORT:

The Disbursement Group allocated a one-off sum of £200k to PG scholarships for disbursement this year; which leveraged three additional PhD scholarships at Home/ EU level.

- 6. <u>Chancellor's Scholarships, Chancellor's International Scholarships, DARO, Wolfson</u> <u>Foundation and Arts and Humanities Research Council Doctoral Awards</u>
  - (a) BGS Working Group

TO REPORT:

- (i) That a cross faculty working group has met to consider the advantages of a faculty led scholarships model.
- (ii) That recommendations from this Group will be communicated to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and reported back to the Board of Graduate Studies at its meeting in May.
- (b) Nominated Applicants

TO REPORT:

- (i) That the applications scored and nominated for consideration by departments were each subsequently divided according to their research grouping and reviewed by three faculty scorers, noting that no scorer considered applications from their own department;
- (ii) That the scores allocated to each applicant by both the department and the faculty are set out in a separate paper (<u>Tabled. 2/13</u>), noting that the average score "average score".
- (iii) That 17 Chancellor's International Scholarships, paying the full overseas fee and a maintenance stipend at the RCUK rate, will be awarded to the highest-scoring applicants classified as 'overseas' for fees purposes. There will be 35 full Chancellors Scholarships paying fees at Home/ EU rate and a maintenance stipend at RCUK rate. Followed by 18 fees only Chancellors International Scholarships paying the full overseas fee and 15 fees only Chancellors Scholarships paying fees at the Home/ EU rate. This is a total of 85 awards for 2012-13 for Chancellors and Chancellors International Scholarships.
- (iv) That the following AHRC doctoral awards are available for 2012-13:

Theatre and Performance Studies:	1 award
English and Comparative Literary Studies:	1 award
Film & TV:	3 awards
History:	2 awards
History of Art:	1 award
Italian Studies:	1 award
Philosophy:	2 awards

(v) That there are four Wolfson awards available for 2012-13 in the disciplines of History, Literature and Languages. The Doctoral awards will be worth £26,000 per year per student.

- (vi) That there are three DARO/ Giving to Warwick awards available for 2012-13.
- TO CONSIDER:

The list of candidates who have been nominated by their departments and scored by the relevant faculty as outlined above, to determine:

- (i) which candidates should be made Chancellor's, CIS, DARO, Wolfson Foundation, and AHRC Doctoral awards;
- (c) Additional Documents Uploads

TO CONSIDER:

The benefits to including the current additional document upload facility in the application form.

7. Warwick/ Open Society Foundation (OSF)

TO REPORT:

- a) That eight Warwick/ OSF awards of £26,367 each are available for 2012-13.
- b) That 197 applications were received for the Warwick/ Open Society Foundation scholarship competition from the following countries; Belarus, Kazakhstan, Moldova and Mongolia.
- 8. Any other business